Lexus NX and Lexus RX get spec updates for 2019

Revised specifications levels and option packs for hybrid SUVs

Lexus NX

Lexus has updated its two largest SUV models, the NX and RX, for 2019. Their hybrid powertrains and sharp exterior looks are unchanged, but all models across both ranges are now four-wheel drive as standard, and specification levels and option packs have been tweaked for both cars.

Lexus NX 2019

The Lexus NX is now offered in NX, F Sport and Takumi trim levels, with the entry-level car getting 18-inch alloys, the Lexus Safety System+ pack of safety kit, heated front seats with Tahara upholstery and eight-inch sat-nav.

The sat nav can be upgraded to a 10-inch screen as an option, while a Sport Pack can also be added, bringing a bronze/machined finish to the wheels, as well as a black spindle grille and black door mirror casings.

Moving up to the NX F Sport brings a heated leather steering wheel, exterior styling details and leather front seats. The model also comes with a powered tailgate, wireless charging and triple-beam LED headlights.

The range-topping Takumi version, meanwhile, adds a panoramic roof, heated and ventilated front seats, a 360-degree camera, head-up display, leather upholstery, 14-speaker Mark Levinson stereo, blind-spot monitoring and rear cross-traffic alert.

Option packs include a Premium Pack, which adds smart entry, parking sensors, rear privacy glass, the 10-inch sat nav, LED front fog and cornering lights, a heated steering wheel, powered tailgate and wireless charging, smooth leather upholstery and a panoramic roof.

The Takumi Pack, meanwhile, adds much of the Takumi trim level's equipment to the F Sport. It comprises adaptive variable suspension, the Mark Levinson stereo, panoramic view monitor, head-up display, blind-spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alert and a panoramic roof or sunroof.

Lexus RX 2019

The Lexus RX was named as best large hybrid car you can buy in the 2019 DrivingElectric Awards. For 2019, its trim-level structure has been revised to RX, F Sport and Takumi.

The entry-level RX gets 18-inch alloys, smooth leather upholstery, heated and ventilated front seats, eight-inch sat nav, DAB digital radio, front and rear parking sensors and smart entry.

With the RX F Sport, you get a heated steering wheel and powered tailgate with hands-free sensor, along with the F Sport spindle grille, aluminium pedal set, F Sport seats and steering wheel and adaptive suspension.

At the top of the range, the RX Takumi gets power-folding heated rear seats, a 15-speaker Mark Levinson stereo, a colour head-up display, 360-degree camera, semi-aniline leather upholstery, 10-way powered front seat adjustment, memory settings for the front seats, steering wheel and door mirrors.

Lexus RX

Standard safety kit here includes blind-spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alert with automatic braking and triple-eye LED headlights.

This is in addition to the Lexus Safety System+ package, which is standard across the RX range and incorporates a pre-collision system, adaptive cruise control, lane-keeping assistance, trailer sway warning, traffic-sign recognition and automatic high-beam headlights.

Several option packs are available across the range. For the entry-level RX, adding the Sport Pack provides 20-inch alloys, a black grille and black door mirror casings.

Adding the Premium Pack also gives you 20-inch alloys, along with 12.3-inch sat nav, 'triple-eye' LED lights, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a heated steering wheel, a powered tailgate and wireless phone charging pad.

Need to sell your car?
Find your best offer from over 5,000+ dealers. It’s that easy.

The Tech and Safety Pack adds a colour head-up display, blind-spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alert, automatic braking, power-folding door mirrors, a powered tailgate with a no-touch sensor and a panoramic roof.

On the entry-level RX, the Premium Pack and Tech & Safety Pack must be ordered together, whereas on the RX F Sport, the Tech & Safety Pack can be added on its own.

The F Sport can also be equipped with a Takumi Pack, which includes the Tech and Safety Pack content plus power-folding rear sets, heated rear seats, the Mark Levinson stereo, the 360-degree camera, card key and panoramic roof.

All of the new trim levels and option packs for the RX apply to both the five-seat Lexus RX and seven-seat Lexus RX L bodystyles.


New Lexus RZ 450e electric SUV prices revealed
Lexus RZ 450e

New Lexus RZ 450e electric SUV prices revealed

21 Dec 2022

Most Popular

Tesla Model 3 facelift will be a double-edged sword
Tesla badge

Tesla Model 3 facelift will be a double-edged sword

Tesla’s updated EV will have an improved interior, greater range and a more affordable price – as well as one unfortunate drawback
1 Jun 2023
Vauxhall Astra Electric: price, range and video
Vauxhall Astra Electric

Vauxhall Astra Electric: price, range and video

The new Astra Electric shares its parts with the Peugeot e-308, with first deliveries due soon
31 May 2023
Volkswagen ID.3 review
Volkswagen ID.3 facelift - front 1
In-depth reviews

Volkswagen ID.3 review

The recently updated Volkswagen ID.3 hatchback is vastly improved inside, but the fiddly infotainment system remains
2 Jun 2023